Expert, expert, who’s the fairest of them all

When nobody knows a lot, who do you turn to? Experts! The great thing about experts is that they don’t let the fact that they don’t know anything stop them from providing their expert opinion. I was amused this morning to be listening to an expert who was telling us all how to bring back the economy. He said we needed lots of testing. Like 300 million tests. He proudly announced if we can manufacture 100 million cans of soda, we can create 300 million tests. My first thought was, dude, can you change a manufacturing line from making cans of soda to creating Wuhan Virus tests? Exactly how much work will that take? Clearly, being an expert he hadn’t thought about it. It is like that stupid saying that begins if we put a man on the moon … Sorry folks it just doesn’t work that way. Unless, of course, you can create a moon rocket out of soda cans.


But let’s talk about being experts. Think about what you are expert at. We are all experts at something. Me, I have written software for forty years. I guess we could call me an expert, right? So I really should be able to estimate how long writing some piece of software takes, right? Wrong. If I could actually do that, my fortune would be made. I am betting that you are in the same boat. Whatever you are expert in, you realize there are limits to your expertise. So now I have to ask the following quesion. And yes, I am yelling. WHY IN THE NAME OF ALL THAT IS HOLY DO YOU THINK THAT THERE EXIST EXPERTS FOR WHOM THE SAME RULE DOES NOT APPLY?


Well, at least, I feel better now. If you would like to feel worse, read the following link about the Wuhan Virus. What we don’t know could fit in a fairly long blog post.


http://blueberrytown.com/index.php/2020/04/23/tip-toeing-in-a-dark-house/

Leave a comment